Question of the day: If evolution were true…

If evolution were true and there was no God/gods/godesses, would the world be any different from how it is now? And if so, how?

Posted in Atheism, Creation vs. Evolution, Evolution, Makes You Think, Question of the Day, Religion
8 comments on “Question of the day: If evolution were true…
  1. If evolution were true? Why wouldn’t it be true? You cannot deny science. So to answer your question: the world is the way it is, thanks to evolution.

  2. chmd says:

    The world is what it is, regardless of whether God exists.

  3. Richard@Home says:

    Mr. Keeper, I recommend you read some of my other posts😉

    Mr. Keeper, chmd, there’s a large proportion of people on this planet of ours that would disagree with both of your statements.

    Looking forward to hearing some believers thoughts.

  4. ibbo says:

    of course it’s true, so long as one accepts that all truths are provisional and with reference to a particular context🙂 Evolution seems to me to be one of the less rigorous, and substantially harder to test experimentally, theories. It seems to me very likely, IMNSHO, it will be replaced by something better at some point. Until then, it’s the best scientific candidate we have to explan what we see around us. I met a lovely christian on thursday last week, who is a paleontologist. I was sufficiently drunk to ask if he didn’t see any conflict, which he didn’t. When asked how he felt about creationism he said… “Well you see the thing about the creationists is… I don’t know if I should give them a great big hug or a slap”.. very refreshing!

  5. nate says:

    @The Lodge Keeper: Of course I can deny science, it happens all the time. Often as not, science itself is doing the denying, hence the self-correcting nature of the Scientific Method, which itself is something one could accurately say is undeniable.

    Of course, that doesn’t account for the reliability of your senses, and it bases itself on the assumption that the universe exists outside the construct of your consciousness, as well as a whole host of other issues that science is largely inadequate to address.

    Honestly, this is a debate I gave up on a long time ago, as should you, dear reader, unless of course you do it simply to get a rise out of people. If that’s the case, then by all means, debate on. What we have here is a problem of worldview (or belief system, if you will). Worldviews rarely ever change as a result of the incorporation of new data, regardless of the level of academic rigor. This is because the worldview itself defines the interpretation of the data, and is therefore self-fulfilling.

    The funny thing is, this is typically framed as a faith-vs.-science debate. The two aren’t mutually exclusive, and even the most scientific among us take a great many things on faith every day, but that’s not why this is funny. It’s funny because it takes a lot more faith to believe that God does not (and cannot) exist than to believe He does. You’ll realize this if you stop and take a few moments to think about it. You’d be safer sticking with agnosticism.

  6. suzi says:

    @nate: I think you make a lot of good points. One thing I really can’t see though – the idea that it requires more faith to disbelieve than to believe. Put a bit bluntly, I guess, I find it difficult to believe in God in much the same way that I find it hard to believe that there are invisible elves hiding behind the office furniture laughing at me in a language I can’t hear. I just don’t see any evidence for either of them. Always felt like I ought to be agnostic, but the older I get the more atheist I become.

  7. nate says:

    @suzi: I could go on forever about this one, but instead I’ll give you the line that my atheist buddies always give me whenever we’re talking about evolution. It doesn’t completely fit the discussion, but it has a ring to it:

    “Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence.”

  8. Bebop says:

    I pose this question to you “Why can’t evolution be the answer to how and not the answer to why?” I personally believe that there is a form of higher power and weather we were created in a matter of days or it was set into motion the building blocks for us to evolve to what we are, doesn’t matter we are here now. The interesting thing is the scientists take things on faith all the time.

    Evolution certainly shows us that we could have evolved from other things, some of the proof is out there. However as far as I can remember there was still the problem of the missing link (if it was found then I have not seen the article, my apologies). While this certainly does not disprove the theory of evolution most evolutionists take it on faith that it exists, while no proof has yet been found.

    While this question may be important to some, I feel that there are more important issues today that require our attention otherwise we may not be around to answer this one.

Leave a Reply

