A request to a Muslim…

Hi,

You don’t know me, but I’d like to read the Qur’an. I don’t want to buy it because I think if your god wanted me to read it, it would be provided to me. I don’t want to read it on-line because I don’t think that’s how it should be read. It should be read, like other religious texts, away from distraction.

I also think, that if someone thinks highly enough of any book, they would dig into their own pockets and buy it for someone they think would benefit from it. I know I have, and will continue to do so.

To put this in a little context, over the last few months in particular. Someone or some people have been sending me religious texts – mainly (not all) Christian.

I’ve read them. All of them. Some of them twice.

So far, no one has sent me a copy of the Qur’an.

That’s odd considering the billion plus Muslims out there.

So, I’m asking here, for someone to send me a copy of the Qur’an, in English. Preferably ‘the one true’ translation (yes, I understand I can only be fully comprehended in it native Arabic, but I have to start somewhere, and yes, there are likely to be thousands of ‘one true translations’ – so send them all).

To this end, I will, for the first time ever, publish my email address. I’m prepared to put with the deluge of spam to gain one molecule of understanding.

That sounds like a fair traid to me.

Email me at richardathome@gmail.com and I’ll organise a devlivery address.

I hope I don’t live to regret this.

/peace

Software developer by day, scale model builder and wargamer by night.

Posted in Atheism, Creation vs. Evolution, Makes You Think, Paganism, Question of the Day, Religion
One comment on “A request to a Muslim…
  1. Antony Ellis says:

    I’m not a muslim but If you do get a copy it will take you many years to learn how to read it. The actual meaning of Qur’an is “recitation” meaning that it must be read/recited slowly and in a kind of rhythmic tone.

    A canonical recitation must satisfy three conditions:

    1. It must match the rasm, letter for letter.

    2. It must conform with the syntactic rules of the Arabic language.

    3. It must have a continuous isnad to Muhammad through tawatur, meaning that it has to be related by a large group of people to another down the isnad chain

    Ref: Wiki

    The thing which really concerns me about the Qur’an is the need for an *angel* to correct God’s word – especially Gabriel but thats another discussion.

Leave a Reply

